My art obsession confession


Contrary to popular belief, the first nations to make use of printing were the Chinese and Japanese in the early 1800’s.

Woodblock printing is the name of one of the techniques they used. As the name suggests they made use of wood to paint on and then press onto paper with. The technique was used mostly for art forms and in Chinese Buddhist temple books.

One of the artists in Japan to make use of this technique was Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849). He is mostly remembered this beautiful painting of a wave in front of Mount Fuji which he called The Great Wave Off Kanagawa. Click on the link, you won’t be disappointed!

I’ve never studied art, which is kind of weird, because I’ve always found it really fascinating. So, when I came across the years of historical paintings and prints that Japanese artists left behind… I just couldn’t stop searching for more and more to feed my hungry eyeballs with!

THEN I found Fuco… and became obsessed.

Fuco Ueda is undoubtably my favourite artist at this point in time. Her work is both unethical and non-sensical, but at the same time captivating and freakishly awesome!

I can stare at these prints for hours on end…

Click here to go to http://www.fucoueda.com

I love her work, because it gives me a dreamy feeling. The detail of the girl’s hair in the images make me want to draw over them with precision and all the concentration I can offer. I could think up a story for every one of them.

This woman has the imagination of an old ‘twisted sister’ soul with the talent of a rainbow god.

I really don’t have any better words to describe her.

Pam Grossman, author of Phantasmaphile, had the following to say about Ueda’s work:

“The heroines of Fuco Ueda’s paintings are often on the brink of danger.  These beauties are at once victims and agents.  But whether the threats are self-inflicted or not, they make for fierce and beautiful narratives.”

Click on HERE to read Fuco Ueda’s bio and to see more of her work. It’s fantastic to see how she’s grown as an artist in the past decade or so. While you’re there would you mind purchasing and mailing me a print or two? hehe

So now it’s your turn…who is your favourite artist and why?

Add links to images please! I’m the one with the hungry eyes…

3 responses to “My art obsession confession

  1. nicolefernandes

    oooooO stunning i dont have any favourite artist but ive been to the Louvre in Paris twice! It is one of my favourite places in the world, from botanical gardens to great architecture to the Mona Lisa (that by the way is size of an A4 page), thought that was suprising… anyway check website: http://www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/home.jsp?bmLocale=en

    great blog by the way!

  2. Wow I love this artist – Lauren van Onselen – who writes amazing blogs! This is a really awesome blog. While reading it, it felt like someone poured a very frizzy Fanta all over my brain! When thinking of artists, we often think of painters, but we should remember that artist can create various things like music or writing pieces. It is very hard to pick one favourite artist but if I have to, I choose kids! My mom is a grade 1 teacher and I often page through their working books when she marks them at home. Their pictures, stories and prayers are so innocent and true – and some of them are actually really good! Watch:

  3. yes these paintings are freakishly amazing! hmmm my fav? dont really know. im not that fanatic about paintings, but when i see a good one i cant stop staring :0

Leave a Reply

